Keisha Castillo-Torres and Nicolas Garraud win SPIE Best Paper Award

Congratulations to Keisha Castillo-Torres and Nicolas Garraud for winning the SPIE ‘Smart Biomedical and Physiological Sensor Technology XIII’ Conference Best Paper Award for their paper titled ‘Investigation of magnetic microdiscs for bacterial pathogen detection’.  Dr. Arnold and Dr. Eric McLamore (ABE Dept.) are co-authors.

IMG @ Hilton Head 2016

IMG will be well-represented at the upcoming Hilton Head Workshop in June 2016: 

Development of a Hydraulically Smooth Wall Shear Stress Sensor Utilizing Through Silicon Vias (poster)
Casey Barnard, David Mills, Jessica Meloy, and Mark Sheplak

A Flush-Mount Sensor Package for a MEMS Piezoelectric Microphone with Through-Silicon-Vias for Aircraft Fuselage Arrays (poster)
Tiffany Reagan, James R. Underbrink, Jessica Meloy, and Mark Sheplak

Low-Power Electrically Controlled Thermoelastic Microfluidic Valve Array for Multiplexed Immunoassay (poster)
Chun-Wei Wang, Shancy Augustine, Toshi Nishida, and Z. Hugh Fan

Electrospun Polycaprolactone Nanofibers and Microbeads Loaded with Dexamethasone for Extended Ocular Drug Delivery (late news oral)
Sheng-Po Fang, Kuan-Hui Hsu, Chang-Lin Lin, Anuj Chauhan, and Yong-Kyu Yoon

Towards Pathogen Detection via Optical Interrogation of Magnetic Microdiscs (late news poster)
Keisha Y. Castillo-Torres, Nicolas Garraud, Eric S. McLamore, and David P. Arnold

Casey Barnard wins Attributes of a Gator Engineer Award for Leadership

Casey Barnard was selected for the UF Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering Attribute of a Gator Engineer Award for the 2016-2017 academic year.  Specifically, Casey won the award in the area of Leadship based on his service within IMG, MAE, COE and NRF.  In addition his activities within IMG, he currently serves on MAE Graduate Student Council, chairs the COE Graduate Student Council, and serves on the NRF Users Advisory Committee. 

Dr. Arnold awarded UFRF Professor for 2016-2019

Prof. David Arnold has been selected by the University of Florida Research Foundation as one of the 34 UFRF Professors for 2016-2019. The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields. IMG extends its warmest congratulations!

For more information, please visit  UF News.

New Certificate in Microsystem Technology

IMG has developed a new graduate certificate program in "Microsystem Technology." 

Certificate Description: The Microsystem Technology certificate prepares students for the complex, interdisciplinary development of microsystem technologies such as microactuators, microsensors, microfluidic devices, micropower systems, microoptical devices, and other microelectromechanical systems (MEMS).

Requirements for Admission: A bachelor’s degree or equivalent from a regionally accredited institution. Students must be registered in a graduate degree program in the College of Engineering and maintain a 3.0 GPA.

Requirements for Completion: Students must complete the following courses (9 credits total) with a grade of B or higher:

1. Required:

  • EEE 5405 Microelectronic Fabrication Technologies

2. Any two of the following:

  • EEE 5354L Semiconductor Device Fabrication Laboratory
  • EEL 5225 Principles of Micro-Electro-Mechanical Transducers
  • EEE 6465 Design of MEMS Transducers
  • EEE 6460 Advanced Microsystem Technology 
  • BME 5580 Microfluidics and BioMEMS

To register for the certificate, apply here:   (scroll down to the "Certificate" section and follow the prompts).  After completing the program requirements, you will earn a printed certificate, and a notation will be made on your UF transcript.  For more information, email Dr. Arnold (