Seahee Hwangbo awarded IEEE Annual AP-S Doctoral Research Fellowship

Seahee Hwangbo, a current IMG member, has received the 2016 IEEE Antenna and Propagation Society (AP-S) Doctoral Research Fellowship Award. The IEEE AP-S awards up to 10 PhD fellowships each year to encourage students to pursue a career in the area of Electromagnetics. The awards are intended to support students involved in project work directed by a faculty member at their institution who is a member of the IEEE Antenna and Propagation Society. The title of her research is: "Millimeter-wave Wireless Interconnects for Intra-/Inter chip Communications using Through Glass Via (TGV) Disc-loaded Antennas in 3D-IC" under the supervision of Dr. Y.K. Yoon.

The award selection is based on creativity and quality of the proposed
project, discussion of the technical interests and skills of the student.

Microsystem Technology Certificate

IMG has developed a new graduate certificate program in "Microsystem Technology." 

Certificate Description: The Microsystem Technology certificate prepares students for the complex, interdisciplinary development of microsystem technologies such as microactuators, microsensors, microfluidic devices, micropower systems, microoptical devices, and other microelectromechanical systems (MEMS).

Requirements for Admission: A bachelor’s degree or equivalent from a regionally accredited institution. Students must be registered in a graduate degree program in the College of Engineering and maintain a 3.0 GPA.

Requirements for Completion: Students must complete the following courses (9 credits total) with a grade of B or higher:

1. Required:

  • EEE 5405 Microelectronic Fabrication Technologies

2. Any two of the following:

  • EEE 5354L Semiconductor Device Fabrication Laboratory
  • EEL 5225 Principles of Micro-Electro-Mechanical Transducers
  • EEE 6465 Design of MEMS Transducers
  • EEE 6460 Advanced Microsystem Technology 
  • BME 5580 Microfluidics and BioMEMS

To register for the certificate, apply here:   (scroll down to the "Certificate" section and follow the prompts).  After completing the program requirements, you will earn a printed certificate, and a notation will be made on your UF transcript.  For more information, email Dr. Arnold (

IMG Kickoff Meeting

Event date: 
Fri, 08/19/2016 - 3:45pm to 5:30pm

At this annual IMG Kickoff meeting, we to take stock of where we are at and where we are going as a group.  We also provide important updates and reminders.  This meeting is mandatory for all IMG members. Pizza will be served at 11:45am, and the meeting will begin promptly at 12:00pm.  See you there!

Keisha Castillo-Torres and Nicolas Garraud win SPIE Best Paper Award

Congratulations to Keisha Castillo-Torres and Nicolas Garraud for winning the SPIE ‘Smart Biomedical and Physiological Sensor Technology XIII’ Conference Best Paper Award for their paper titled ‘Investigation of magnetic microdiscs for bacterial pathogen detection’.  Dr. Arnold and Dr. Eric McLamore (ABE Dept.) are co-authors.

IMG @ Hilton Head 2016

IMG will be well-represented at the upcoming Hilton Head Workshop in June 2016: 

Development of a Hydraulically Smooth Wall Shear Stress Sensor Utilizing Through Silicon Vias (poster)
Casey Barnard, David Mills, Jessica Meloy, and Mark Sheplak

A Flush-Mount Sensor Package for a MEMS Piezoelectric Microphone with Through-Silicon-Vias for Aircraft Fuselage Arrays (poster)
Tiffany Reagan, James R. Underbrink, Jessica Meloy, and Mark Sheplak

Low-Power Electrically Controlled Thermoelastic Microfluidic Valve Array for Multiplexed Immunoassay (poster)
Chun-Wei Wang, Shancy Augustine, Toshi Nishida, and Z. Hugh Fan

Electrospun Polycaprolactone Nanofibers and Microbeads Loaded with Dexamethasone for Extended Ocular Drug Delivery (late news oral)
Sheng-Po Fang, Kuan-Hui Hsu, Chang-Lin Lin, Anuj Chauhan, and Yong-Kyu Yoon

Towards Pathogen Detection via Optical Interrogation of Magnetic Microdiscs (late news poster)
Keisha Y. Castillo-Torres, Nicolas Garraud, Eric S. McLamore, and David P. Arnold