IMG Kickoff Meeting

Event date: 
Fri, 08/19/2016 - 3:45pm to 5:30pm

At this annual IMG Kickoff meeting, we to take stock of where we are at and where we are going as a group.  We also provide important updates and reminders.  This meeting is mandatory for all IMG members. Pizza will be served at 11:45am, and the meeting will begin promptly at 12:00pm.  See you there!

Keisha Castillo-Torres and Nicolas Garraud win SPIE Best Paper Award

Congratulations to Keisha Castillo-Torres and Nicolas Garraud for winning the SPIE ‘Smart Biomedical and Physiological Sensor Technology XIII’ Conference Best Paper Award for their paper titled ‘Investigation of magnetic microdiscs for bacterial pathogen detection’.  Dr. Arnold and Dr. Eric McLamore (ABE Dept.) are co-authors.

IMG @ Hilton Head 2016

IMG will be well-represented at the upcoming Hilton Head Workshop in June 2016: 

Development of a Hydraulically Smooth Wall Shear Stress Sensor Utilizing Through Silicon Vias (poster)
Casey Barnard, David Mills, Jessica Meloy, and Mark Sheplak

A Flush-Mount Sensor Package for a MEMS Piezoelectric Microphone with Through-Silicon-Vias for Aircraft Fuselage Arrays (poster)
Tiffany Reagan, James R. Underbrink, Jessica Meloy, and Mark Sheplak

Low-Power Electrically Controlled Thermoelastic Microfluidic Valve Array for Multiplexed Immunoassay (poster)
Chun-Wei Wang, Shancy Augustine, Toshi Nishida, and Z. Hugh Fan

Electrospun Polycaprolactone Nanofibers and Microbeads Loaded with Dexamethasone for Extended Ocular Drug Delivery (late news oral)
Sheng-Po Fang, Kuan-Hui Hsu, Chang-Lin Lin, Anuj Chauhan, and Yong-Kyu Yoon

Towards Pathogen Detection via Optical Interrogation of Magnetic Microdiscs (late news poster)
Keisha Y. Castillo-Torres, Nicolas Garraud, Eric S. McLamore, and David P. Arnold

Casey Barnard wins Attributes of a Gator Engineer Award for Leadership

Casey Barnard was selected for the UF Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering Attribute of a Gator Engineer Award for the 2016-2017 academic year.  Specifically, Casey won the award in the area of Leadship based on his service within IMG, MAE, COE and NRF.  In addition his activities within IMG, he currently serves on MAE Graduate Student Council, chairs the COE Graduate Student Council, and serves on the NRF Users Advisory Committee. 

Dr. Arnold awarded UFRF Professor for 2016-2019

Prof. David Arnold has been selected by the University of Florida Research Foundation as one of the 34 UFRF Professors for 2016-2019. The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields. IMG extends its warmest congratulations!

For more information, please visit  UF News.