Dr. Fan wins E.T.S. Walton Award

Professor Z. Hugh Fan won the E. T. S. Walton Award from Science Foundation Ireland in Aug. 2009. The award enables him to take a two-semester sabbatical, assuming Walton Visiting Professorship in the Biomedical Diagnostics Institute (BDI) at Dublin City University in Ireland. BDI is comprised of more than 100 scientists, developing diagnostic platforms through integration of clinical, industrial and academic expertise. Professor Fan’s work at BDI will focus on device design and testing for sorting and concentration of rare circulating tumor cells.

David Arnold Wins PECASE

Dr. David Arnold has been selected as a winner of a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) for research entitled "Development of Fully Integrated Micromagnetic Actuator Technologies." The PECASE is the "highest honor bestowed by the United States government on young professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers." Congratulations, Dr. Arnold!

Jared Lee Wins NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

The National Science Foundation has just announced that IMG senior undergraduate researcher Jared Lee has been selected a winner of a Graduate Research Fellowship. As a winner of this prestigious award, Jared will receive funds for graduate study worth $44,500/yr for three years. Jared plans to begin his graduate work in the fall at Stanford University. Congratulations, Jared!

Congratulations to Vijay Chandrasekharan!

Congratulations are due to Vijay Chandrasekharan for the successful defense of his dissertation, entitled "A Microscale Differential Capacitive Direct Wall Shear Stress Sensor." Congratulations from all of IMG!

After graduation, Vijay plans to retrieve his shear stress sensors from the clutches of the evil Sith, who believe it is a transformative technology in their quest to rule the universe. (The force is strong in Vijay.)

New IMG Doctoral Student Awarded NSF Fellowship

Congratulations to Mr. Daniel Vilceus who has been awarded a Bridge to the Doctorate Fellowship by the National Science Foundation. As a winner of this prestigious award, he will receive a stipend of $30,000 per year of graduate study, plus graduate tuition and fees for up to five years of study. Mr. Vilceus completed his M.S. degree at USF and will begin graduate study at IMG in the fall under Dr. Mark Sheplak.

Two IMG Students Win NSF Fellowship; Two More Receive Honorable Mention

Last week the National Science Foundation announced that two senior undergraduate members of IMG, Cesar Moreno and Jessica Sockwell, won Graduate Research Fellowships. As winners of this prestigious award, both students will receive funds for graduate study worth $44,550/yr for three years. Cesar and Jessica will begin graduate study at IMG in the fall under Drs. Lou Cattafesta and Mark Sheplak, respectively.

2008 SENTC Student Paper Award - Yawei Li

The AIAA Sensor Systems Technical Committee (SENTC) awarded Yawei Li et al. with the 2008 SENTC Student Paper Award for her presentation and paper titled "A MEMS Shear Stress Sensor for Turbulence Measurements" (Paper No. AIAA-2008-269-930). The award designates the paper as the best among all SENTC student papers during the 46th AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting and Exhibit, Reno, NV, January 2008. Congratulations to Yawei and co-authors on the award and impressive work!