Launch of MIST Center

--Innovating More than Moore technologies for smart systems in the Internet of Things era--
We are pleased to announce a new NSF Industry/University Cooperative Research Center (I/UCRC) in Multi-functional Integrated System Technology.  The MIST Center is led at UF under the direction of Dr. Toshi Nishida, with a strong partnership with UCF.
The mission of the MIST Center is to facilitate integration of novel materials, processes, devices, and circuits into multi-functional systems through research partnerships between university, industry, and government stakeholders
The MIST Center Kickoff Meeting will be held December 11-12 in Gainesville, Florida. 
It was the support from industry and government partners, our MIST faculty, and students that made this new venture possible.
                                          -- Toshi Nishida, MIST Center Director

Daniel Blood part of team awarded $25,000 for winning the UF Big Idea Business Plan Competition

Daniel Blood, Rob Damitz and Erica Gonzaga, co-founders of aqUV, developed a portable water purification device that uses ultraviolet light to sterilize water were awarded $25,000 for winning the UF Big Idea Business Plan Competition.   More information can be found here.

Aneesh Koka and Dr. Henry Sodano Win ASME Best Paper Award

Aneesh Koka and Dr. Henry A. Sodano have won the ASME Best Paper Award in Material Systems for their research article on "High-sensitivity Accelerometer Composed of Ultra-long Barium Titanate Nanowire Arrays" that was published in Nature Communications.  The ASME Aerospace Division presents two awards annually: Best Paper in Structures and Best Paper in Material Systems selected from all journal articles published in 2013.  Aneesh and Dr. Sodano's published article was chosen as the best paper in material systems for the year 2013.

Sheng-Po Fang receives Grand Prize in Materials Processing Student Poster Award

Sheng-Po Fang, a PhD student in Dr. YK Yoon's group, has been selected by the Florida Chapter of the American Vacuum Society and Florida Society for Microscopy as the 2014 recipient of the Grand Prize in Materials Processing Student Poster Award. This annual award is used to recognize students who meet exemplary academic achievement and contributions to the community.

Mohammad Malakooti receives UF's 2013-2014 Outstanding International Student Award

Mohammad Malakooti, a PhD student in Dr. Henry Sodano's group, has been selected by the College of Engineering as one of its 2013-2014 recipients of the Outstanding International Student Award. This annual award at University of Florida is used to recognize students who not only meet exemplary academic achievement, but also show a wide range of accomplishments and contributions to the community.

For more information please visit:

Cheolbok Kim Receives IEEE AP-S Doctoral Research Award

Congratulations to Cheolbok Kim on receiving the 2013 IEEE Antenna and Propagation Society (AP-S) Doctoral Research Award! The IEEE AP-S awards up to ten PhD fellowships each year to encourage students to pursue a career in the area of Antenna and Electromagnetics. The awards are intended to support students involved in project work directed by a faculty member at their institution who is a member of the IEEE AP-S. The title of his research is: "Low Loss and High Gain Terahertz Antenna Systems Using Micromachined Air-lifted 3D Structures and Metamaterials" The award selection is based on creativity and quality of the proposed project, discussion of the technical interests and skills of the student as well as the recommendation letter.

Haixiong Tang Awarded Best Paper at SPIE Smart Structures/NDE 2013 Conference

PhD candidate Haixiong Tang from Dr. Henry Sodano’s group has been awarded the 1st Place SPIE/ASME Best Student Paper Award at SPIE’s 20th International Symposium on Smart Materials in San Diego on March 13, 2013.  In addition, Haixiong received the 2012 ChineseGovernment Award for Outstanding Self-financed Students Studying Abroad, a prestigious Chinese government award given to selected students studying abroad in recognition of excellent academic achievement.  Haixiong was one of 489 researcher from 29 countries selected for this award.  Congratulations!