Zachary Kaufman Awarded Goldwater Scholarship

Congratulations to Zak Kaufman for being selected as a Goldwater Scholar!  The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship is awarded to approximately 300 college sophomores and juniors across the nation. Universities are only allowed to nominate four undergraduate students to compete for the final scholarship. This makes it the most prestigious award for undergraduate students in the fields of science and engineering. The scholarship is awarded based on the nominee's field of study, career objectives, and the potential for the student to make a significant contribution to his or her field.

New IMG baby!



On Sunday at 1:09 pm fellow graduate student Raphael Puzio and family welcomed a new baby into their family. Baby girl "TBD" Puzio weighed 6 lbs 14 oz and was 19" long. Congratulations to Rafael and his whole growing family!

Matt Williams Wins College of Engineering Award for Integrity

Dr. Matt Williams, a recent graduate of IMG, has been selected by the UF College of Engineering as the 2011-2012 recipient of the Attribute of Gator Engineering Graduate Student Award for Integrity. As a recipient of this award, Matt is recognized for being "honest, ethical, willing to work for achievements (persistent, hard-working, determined), and impelled toward right action." Congratulations, Matt!

Shuo Cheng Wins College of Engineering Award for "Professional Excellence"

Shuo Cheng has been selected by the UF College of Engineering as the 2011-2012 recipient of the Attribute of Gator Engineering Graduate Student Award for Professional Excellence.  He was selected based the criteria of being "technically competent, skilled in management and planning, problem-solving, and scientifically insightful."  Shuo will be recognized by Dean Abernathy in an awards ceremony in August.

IMG Undergraduates Recognized at MAE Awards Banquet

IMG undergraduates Ann Dietrich (Cattafesta), Carlos Pulido (Cattafesta), and Kevin Rosenberg (Sheplak) were recognized at tonight's Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 2011 Awards Dinner for participation in the University Scholars Program.  Ann Dietrich was also awarded a Boeing Scholarship and was recognized for presenting a top-3 research poster at a contest today.  Congratulations to all of these students!

IMG Undergraduate Tiffany Reagan wins NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Congratulations to Tiffany Reagan, a senior IMG undergraduate student, who has today been named a 2011 winner of the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.  Tiffany has been with IMG since April of 2010 and has been an integral contributor to the development of a MEMS piezoelectric microphone for aeroacoustic applications and other research within Dr. Mark Sheplak's group.  She will choose between University of Florida and California Institute of Technology for her graduate work.  Congratulations, Tiffany!

IMG's Matt Williams recipient of MAE's "Outstanding Graduate Researcher Award."

Today Matt Williams was announced as a recipient of the MAE department's "Outstanding Graduate Researcher Award" for 2011.  Below is the announcement sent out by the department chair, Dr. Balachandar:

Dear Faculty, students and staff:

The following are the department awards for 2011 and they will be
distributed at the Awards Banquet on April 8th. I want to thank the
Awards Committee for their evaluation of the nominations:

Faculty Awards:
Teacher of the Year: Carl Crane
Researcher of the Year: Ghatu Subhash

Staff Awards:
Staff of the Year: Jennifer Brown

Outstanding Graduate Researcher Awards:
SMDM: Brandon Krick AND Shawn English
DSC: Shubendu Bhasin
TSFD: Matthew Williams

Best dissertation award (2010):
SMDM: Nathan Branch
DSC:  Nitin Sharma
TSFD: Manoj Parmar

Best TAs:
Tim Elmore and Ira Hill (both worked in the Controls lab)

Xiaoyu Cheng receives Honorable Mention at 2011 IEEE AP-S Conference

Xiaoyu Cheng's paper will receive an honorable mention in Student Paper Competition of the 2011 IEEE AP-S International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation to be held in Spokane, WA. Xiaoyu will be presented a stipend at the ceremony and his paper will be listed in the Technical Program Booklet as an honorable mention in the Competition.