BEN 230 Microfab Safety Training & Orientation

Event date: 
Mon, 04/01/2013 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Dr. Arnold and Dr. Nishida will offer the next BEN 230 Microfab chemical safety training/orientation on Monday April 1, starting at 10:00am in Dr. Arnold's office, LAR 213.  This orientation is one of the required steps for gaining access to IMG's centralized wet-processing lab.  Additional instructions are on the IMG wiki page: Gaining Access to BEN 230.  Please email if you did not already RSVP.

Haixiong Tang Awarded Best Paper at SPIE Smart Structures/NDE 2013 Conference

PhD candidate Haixiong Tang from Dr. Henry Sodano’s group has been awarded the 1st Place SPIE/ASME Best Student Paper Award at SPIE’s 20th International Symposium on Smart Materials in San Diego on March 13, 2013.  In addition, Haixiong received the 2012 ChineseGovernment Award for Outstanding Self-financed Students Studying Abroad, a prestigious Chinese government award given to selected students studying abroad in recognition of excellent academic achievement.  Haixiong was one of 489 researcher from 29 countries selected for this award.  Congratulations!

Pitfee Jao awarded 2013 UF-HHMI Science for Life Graduate Student Award.

Pitfee Jao, current IMG member, have been selected as a recipient of the 2013 UF-HHMI Science for Life Graduate Student Award.The award rewards excellence in graduate students who participate in research and publication opportunities in the life sciences in collaboration with undergraduates.

For more information please visit

Congratulations Pitfee.

Cheolbok Kim and Xiaoyu Cheng awarded International Student Awards at the 18th Annual UFIC Award Ceremony

Cheolbok Kim and Xiaoyu Cheng, current IMG members, have been selected by the UFinternational center as recipients of the UF International Student Academic Award. The award highlights outstanding contributions of international students at the University of Florida in an effort to promote and foster exemplary academic achievement and service to UF diverse community. 

For more information please visit

Congratulations Cheolbok and Xiaoyu.