News and events of Multidisciplinary nano and Microsystems (MnM) Lab

Primary tabs

Seahee Hwangbo awarded IEEE Annual AP-S Doctoral Research Fellowship

Seahee Hwangbo, a current IMG member, has received the 2016 IEEE Antenna and Propagation Society (AP-S) Doctoral Research Fellowship Award. The IEEE AP-S awards up to 10 PhD fellowships each year to encourage students to pursue a career in the area of Electromagnetics. The awards are intended to support students involved in project work directed by a faculty member at their institution who is a member of the IEEE Antenna and Propagation Society. The title of her research is: "Millimeter-wave Wireless Interconnects for Intra-/Inter chip Communications using Through Glass Via (TGV) Disc-loaded Antennas in 3D-IC" under the supervision of Dr. Y.K. Yoon.

The award selection is based on creativity and quality of the proposed
project, discussion of the technical interests and skills of the student.

Arian Rahimi Awarded IEEE MTT-S Graduate Fellowship

Arian Rahimi, current IMG member, has been awarded an IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) Graduate Fellowship for 2016. This fellowship is the highest honor IEEE MTT-S gives to top graduate students recognizing their research activities and promise in the area of microwave engineering. The title of his research proposal is: “Nanotechnology-Inspired Multi-Layer Conductors for High Performance Microwave Passive Components” under supervision of Dr. Y.K. Yoon.

He will be presented with the award during the Student Awards Luncheon at the 2016 IEEE International Microwave Symposium (IMS), San Francisco, CA which will be held May 22-27, 2016. The fellowship includes the financial assistance to the graduate student as well as the travel support to attend the IMS 2016 conference.