Two IMG Students Win NSF Fellowship; Two More Receive Honorable Mention

Last week the National Science Foundation announced that two senior undergraduate members of IMG, Cesar Moreno and Jessica Sockwell, won Graduate Research Fellowships. As winners of this prestigious award, both students will receive funds for graduate study worth $44,550/yr for three years. Cesar and Jessica will begin graduate study at IMG in the fall under Drs. Lou Cattafesta and Mark Sheplak, respectively.

2008 SENTC Student Paper Award - Yawei Li

The AIAA Sensor Systems Technical Committee (SENTC) awarded Yawei Li et al. with the 2008 SENTC Student Paper Award for her presentation and paper titled "A MEMS Shear Stress Sensor for Turbulence Measurements" (Paper No. AIAA-2008-269-930). The award designates the paper as the best among all SENTC student papers during the 46th AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting and Exhibit, Reno, NV, January 2008. Congratulations to Yawei and co-authors on the award and impressive work!

IMG Alumnus on Mars!

Philip Cunio, an IMG alumnus, is now a student in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at MIT. He and another MIT student are living inside a Mars simulator in Utah to try to understand the technological and psychological issues that a crew on Mars will someday face. For more information see the webcam and Philip's blog.

Intermag 2008

Sheetal Shetye and Naigang Wang each earned oral presentations at the upcoming Intermag 2008 meeting in Madrid, Spain. Their respective papers are entitled, "Self-assembly of millimeter-scale components using integrated micromagnets" and "Electroplated Co-rich CoPt thick films and patterned arrays for magnetic MEMS".