Dr. Tabrizian Receives $500K NSF CAREER Award

We congratulate Dr. Roozbeh Tabrizian for receiving an NSF CAREER Award for his project, “Active Nano-Acoustic Waveguide Matrix to Tackle Signal Processing Limits: Enabling Wideband and Nonreciprocal Integrated Communication Beyond the UHF.”

Dr. Tabrizian’s five-year, $500K grant will support his research on novel germanium-based nano-acoustic signal processors that enhance access to radio spectrum resources. These novel processors will work towards alleviating radio spectrum overcrowding due to scarcity, as well as enable ultra-fast data communication, required for emerging amenities in a modern society.

More detailed information is available here and on nsf.gov.

IMG Seminar: Dr. Alexandra Garraud and Todd Schumann

Event date: 
Fri, 01/26/2018 - 11:45am

This week, the speakers for the IMG Seminar are:

11:55-12:20 pm: Dr. Alexandra Garraud on "Extending the range of wireless power transmission for bio-implants and wearables

12:20-12:45 pm: Todd Schumann  on "Solely calcine controlled ferroelectric/memristor behavior in barium titanate"


Daniel Alabi, Nicolas Garraud and John Varela won the Best Poster and the Best Demo Awards at the MIST 2017 Fall Meeting

Congratulations to Daniel Alabi, Nicolas Garraud and John Varela for winning the Best Poster and the Best Demo Awards at the MIST 2017 Fall Meeting for their project "Chip-Scale MEMS Receivers for Low-Power Wireless Charging."

Advisors: Dr. Alexandra Garraud and Dr. David Arnold


UF and IMG will be represented at the upcoming IEEE International Electron Device Meeting (IEDM) in December 2017 in San Francisco.

High-Q Silicon Fin Bulk Acoustic Resonators for Signal Processing beyond the UHF (Oral)
M. Ramezani, M. Ghatge, and R. Tabrizian
University of Florida, USA

The IEEE International Electron Device Meeting (IEDM) is the world’s preeminent forum for reporting technological breakthroughs in the areas of semiconductor and electronic device technology, design, manufacturing, physics, and modeling. IEDM is the flagship conference for nanometer-scale CMOS transistor technology, advanced memory, displays, sensors, MEMS devices, novel quantum and nano-scale devices and phenomenology, optoelectronics, devices for power and energy harvesting, high-speed devices, as well as process technology and device modeling and simulation.

IMG Seminar: Dr. Roozbeh Tabrizian and Mehrdad Ramezani

Event date: 
Fri, 12/01/2017 - 11:45am

The speakers of this week's IMG seminar are

  • Dr. Roozbeh Tabrizian on Linear or Nonlinear Nano-Acoustic Signal Processors for 5G Wireless Communication - One problem, two approaches,
  • Mehrdad Ramezani, from Dr. Tabrizian's group, on High-Q Silicon Fin Bulk Acoustic Resonators for Signal Processing Beyond the UHF.

Dr. Xie named 2018 IEEE Fellow

Professor Huikai Xie from the Interdisciplinary Microsystem Group was elevated as an IEEE Fellow 2018. IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. Dr. Xie was awarded for his distinguished contributions to micro-electromechanical optical scanning systems. IMG extends its warmest congratulations!

For more information, please visit IEEE Fellow News and the newly elevated fellow list.

Jose Varillas won the UF Health Cancer Center Research Day Predoctoral Poster Award

Jose Varillas received the UF Health Cancer Center Research Day Predoctoral Poster Award.

Congratulations to Jose Varillas for winning the Predoctoral Poster Award at UF Health Cancer Research day for his poster "Isolation, Detection, and Analysis of Circulating Tumor Cells in Microfluidic Devices for Monitoring Pancreatic Cancer Treatment Response."