Congratulations to Madison Chubb for MAE IDEA Undergraduate Research Fellowship!

Congratulations to IMG undergraduate Madison Chubb for being awarded the MAE IDEA Undergraduate Research Fellowship! This fellowship recognizes and encourages the academic achievement of students from underrepresented groups who aspire to pursue research careers. Under Dr. Hugh Fan’s mentorship, Madison Chubb will be conducting her work on engineering microfluidic devices for tumor cell isolation to study cancerous cells in the blood samples of patients. Go Gators!

Happy Holidays, Everyone!

IMG’ers concluded the semester with a festive White Elephant Gift Exchange Party! Thank you to all who attended and made it a wonderful time. Shoutout to IMG members George Adedokun for the photos, and Shaurya Dabas for the food. Wishing everyone a very joyous and safe holiday season, and a successful new year ahead! 

Ladan Jiracek Represents IMG at the Society for Neuroscience Conference!

IMG Member Ladan Jiracek recently presented at the Society for Neuroscience Conference in San Diego, California!  He presented his work, “Tissue-Engineered Electronic Nerve Interfaces (TEENI): Improved Design, Fabrication, and Packaging Using Aggressive In Vitro Reliability Testing”. Thank you for representing IMG so well!

Congratulations to Chenyu Liang and Dr. Xin Tang on Biomaterials publication! 

Congratulations to IMG Member Chenyu Liang and Dr. Xin Tang on their recent publication in the journal Biomaterials!  Titled “Human cancer cells generate spontaneous calcium transients and intercellular waves that modulate tumor growth,” this work provides evidence that calcium dynamics enables long-distance functional communication in non-excitable cancer cells and offers the potential to modulate calcium signaling for new cancer therapies.

Sushant Rassay's PhD. Defense : Scandium-Aluminum-Nitride Nano-Electro-Mechanical Transducers for Integrated Ferroelectric Devices

Event date: 
Thu, 12/08/2022 - 10:00am to 12:00pm

Hi Everyone,

I will be presenting my PhD. Dissertation Defense titled "Scandium-Aluminum-Nitride Nano-Electro-Mechanical Transducers for Integrated Ferroelectric Devices" tomorrow and I invite everyone to attend it via Zoom:-

Date : 8th December 2022

Time : 10am to 12pm

Congratulations to Meisam and Adam (Moghaddam Group) on New Publication!

Congratulations to IMG Members Meisam Habibi Matin and Adam Kriz, and Dr. Saeed Moghaddam on their recent journal publication in Applied Thermal Engineering! Titled “Annular liquid film thermohydraulic and intermittent dryout in microchannel flow boiling,” this work fully resolves the intermittent dryout process in annular liquid film flow and uses interfacial shear stress to predict flow regime transition. Read more about their pioneering work here:

Ph.D. Defense: Next-Generation High-Channel-Density Implant-Connector Technology

Event date: 
Thu, 11/10/2022 - 10:00am

For several decades implantable bioelectronic neural interfaces have provided significant health benefits for patients suffering from various neurological diseases, deficits, or injuries. As the channel counts have increased, often so to do the therapeutic benefits of neuromodulation-based therapy. However, the lack of development of implantable connector technology for high-channel-count implants is limiting their successful development and translation to clinical trials. Existing commercial implant connector technology is limited to low channel counts (8 ch/lead).